top of page

2020 Golden Guitars, Allan Caswell won his  8th Golden Guitar (with Manfred Vijars for Bush Ballad of the Year). His 8th Golden Guitar came 40 years after his first, in 1980. He has been a Golden Guitar finalist now a total of 44 times!


At the 2018 Tamworth Country Music Festival Allan Caswell was inducted into the prestigious Galaxy Of Stars. It was recognition for the huge contribution he has made to Australian Country Music as a songwriter, performer, record producer, and author. To see his plaque alongside the Dustys, Cassar-Daleys, and Kernaghans was a sobering experience “I was the only one I hadn’t heard of”.


Caswell is Australia’s most recorded songwriter with well over 900 of his songs being released around the world by artists of the calibre of Cilla Black, Patti Page, The Irish Rovers, The Living End, Slim Dusty, Barry Humphries, Ricki May, James Blundell, Jasmine Rae, McAlister Kemp, Graeme Connors, The Wolfe Brothers, Anne Kirkpatrick, Chad Morgan, Lynne Hamilton, The Delltones, Beccy Cole, The Wolfe Brothers, Amber Lawrence, Aleyce Simmonds, Jade Hurley and Ella Hooper among dozens of others.

In 1979 Caswell wrote the theme for the Australian television series “Prisoner” (Cell Block H in England) … “On The Inside” was a number 1 hit in Australia and New Zealand in 1979 and later reached number 3 in the UK and the Patti Page version made the country charts in the USA. Seleen McAlister took the song to Number 1 on the Australian Country charts.

Image by Keith Misner

Allan Caswell

Allan Caswell

bottom of page